Rubery Book Award

Rubery Book AwardThe International Rubery Book Award is the longest established book award based in the UK for independent and self-published books.

The Book of the Year wins £1500 and category winners each get £150.

The 2018 award is now open and accepting entries until 31 March 2018. The winning book will be read by a top London Literary Agent. It costs £36 to enter.

The judges this year are:

Paul McDonald, a senior lecturer in English and Creative Writing at the University of Wolverhampton. He is the author of fifteen books, including three novels and three collections of poetry.

Pauline Morgan, who has been on the panel of judges for the critically acclaimed international Arthur C. Clarke Award. She is an experienced reviewer of fiction, appearing regularly in the on-line reviews magazine, SFCrowsnest.

Clare Morrall, whose debut novel, Astonishing Splashes of Colour, was shortlisted for the MAN Booker Prize. She was also shortlisted for British Newcomer of the Year 2003.

More information: Competition website